Books Like Jurassic Park

Share this Page
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on facebook
Devolution

Devolution

The author of zombie fictionf avorite World War Z returns with a fresh take on the bigfoot mystery. In an epistolary style, Brooks shares the remnants of the Rainier Sasquatch Massacre in a way that blends fact with fiction and reminds us of our own more rugged truths.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Book Depository
Zoo

Zoo

In James Patterson's pulse-racing New York Times bestseller, violent animal attacks are destroying entire cities-and two unlikely heroes must save the world before it's too late.

More info →
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Amazon
Jaws

Jaws

The classic suspense novel of shark versus man, which was made into the blockbuster Steven Spielberg movie. The Jaws phenomenon changed popular culture and continues to inspire a growing interest in sharks and the oceans today.

More info →
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Amazon
The Lost World

The Lost World

The Lost World is a novel released in 1912 by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle concerning an expedition to a plateau in the Amazon basin of South America where prehistoric animals (dinosaurs and other extinct creatures) still survive. It was originally published serially in the popular Strand Magazine and illustrated by New-Zealand-born artist Harry Rountree during the months of April–November 1912. The character of Professor Challenger was introduced in this book.

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Book Depository
Kronos Rising

Kronos Rising

A coastal community faces the wrath of a prehistoric marine predator in Max Hawthorne’s heart-pounding new novel, Kronos Rising.

More info →
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Amazon
Planet of the Apes

Planet of the Apes

In the not-too-distant future, three astronauts land on what appears to be a planet just like Earth, with lush forests, a temperate climate, and breathable air. But while it appears to be a paradise, nothing is what it seems. They soon discover the terrifying truth: On this world humans are savage beasts, and apes rule as their civilized masters.

More info →
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Journey to the Center of the Earth

Journey to the Center of the Earth

When Professor Lidenbrock discovers a 16th-century manuscript that reveals a route to the earth's core, he can't resist the chance to investigate. Together with his whiz-kid nephew and an Icelandic guide, the professor heads for the crater of an extinct volcano. Tension builds as the trio descends: What bizarre creatures may lurk below? Will the supplies last, and how will the group return to the surface?

More info →
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

A mysterious sea monster, theorized by some to be a giant narwhal, is sighted by ships of several nations; an ocean liner is also damaged by the creature. The United States government finally assembles an expedition to track down and destroy the menace. Professor Pierre Aronnax, a noted French marine biologist and narrator of the story, master harpoonist Ned Land, and Aronnax's faithful assistant Conseil join the expedition.

More info →
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Amazon Kindle

It took only three years after the book was released in 1990 for Jurassic Park to hit theaters. The story was monumental. Nothing like it had ever been seen before—or since, in some people’s opinion—and audiences could not get enough of Steven Spielberg’s adaptation. From that first book came a successful four movie franchise so powerful it has been revisited and expanded almost thirty years later with three more films in the 2010’s.

What makes Jurassic Park so popular? Many have tried to find the answer. Perhaps it was the incredible special effects, the timeless battle of monster vs. man, or the conflict of a burgeoning science that may be fictional, but relates far too easily to other developments in the modern day.

Regardless of the reason, it’s clear the fandom of Jurassic Park isn’t going anywhere. Can’t get enough of the story but you’re all out of Crichton’s books? Try some of the other stories on this list. Books like Jurassic Park are few and far between and there can never be a story as seminal as Micahel Crichton’s first take on big monster drama, but you’ll find these books have left their own imprint in the wake of the mighty T-Rex.

Thanks for Reading

This book recommendation list will continue to grow. Check back for more titles and even submit one you feel should be included in our next update to our editor at bex@outofthebex.com

Share This Post
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on facebook
Bex Skoog

Bex Skoog

Bex Skoog is the creator of the 'Out of the Bex' website, a guide to a more thoughtful life through books and simple living. If she had three wishes they would be for teacups to never empty, to possess an unending supply of classic films, and have access to the world's greatest libraries. Bex lives in Virginia outside of Washington D.C. with her husband and hundreds of stray books.

Read Next:

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are “affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Join Our Mailing List

Join the Out of the Bex community 
for reviews, book recommendations, and giveaways.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.