Books Like 1984

Share this Page
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on facebook
Fahrenheit 451

Fahrenheit 451

Sixty years after its originally publication, Ray Bradbury’s internationally acclaimed novel Fahrenheit 451 stands as a classic of world literature set in a bleak, dystopian future where freedom of thought is under attack and books are burned instead of read. Today its message has grown more relevant than ever before.

More info →
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Amazon
Brave New World

Brave New World

Aldous Huxley's profoundly important classic of world literature, Brave New World is a searching vision of an unequal, technologically-advanced future where humans are genetically bred, socially indoctrinated, and pharmaceutically anesthetized to passively uphold an authoritarian ruling order–all at the cost of our freedom, full humanity, and perhaps also our souls.

More info →
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Animal Farm

Animal Farm

Author:
Series: Books Like 1984
Genre: Classic

George Orwell's classic satire of the Russian Revolution is an intimate part of our contemporary culture, quoted so often that we tend to forget who wrote the original words. It is an account of the bold struggle that transforms Mr. Jones' Manor Farm into Animal Farm, a wholly democratic society built on the credo that All Animals Are Created Equal.

More info →
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com
The Handmaid’s Tale

The Handmaid’s Tale

Author:
Series: Books Like 1984
Genre: Classic

The Republic of Gilead offers Offred only one function: to breed. If she deviates, she will, like dissenters, be hanged at the wall or sent out to die slowly of radiation sickness. But even a repressive state cannot obliterate desire - neither Offred's nor that of the two men on which her future hangs.

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Book Depository
The Giver

The Giver

The Giver, the 1994 Newbery Medal winner, has become one of the most influential novels of our time. The haunting story centers on twelve-year-old Jonas, who lives in a seemingly ideal, if colorless, world of conformity and contentment. Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark, complex secrets behind his fragile community.

More info →
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Amazon
Anthem

Anthem

Author:
Series: Books Like 1984
Genres: Classic, Science Fiction

Anthem is Ayn Rand’s classic tale of a dystopian future of the great “We”—a world that deprives individuals of a name or independence—that anticipates her later masterpieces, The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged.

More info →
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Amazon
Lord of the Flies

Lord of the Flies

A plane crashes on a desert island. The only survivors are a group of schoolboys. By day, they discover fantastic wildlife and dazzling beaches, learning to survive; at night, they are haunted by nightmares of a primitive beast. Orphaned by society, it isn't long before their innocent childhood games devolve into a savage, murderous hunt ...

More info →
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Book Depository
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

Fearful of the havoc these artificial humans can wreak, the government bans them from Earth. Driven into hiding, unauthorized androids live among human beings, undetected. Rick Deckard, an officially sanctioned bounty hunter, is commissioned to find rogue androids and "retire" them.

More info →
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Amazon
Slaughterhouse-Five

Slaughterhouse-Five

Slaughterhouse-Five is the now famous parable of Billy Pilgrim, a World War II veteran and POW who has, in the later stage of his life, become "unstuck in time" and who experiences at will (or unwillingly) all known events of his chronology out of order and sometimes simultaneously.

More info →
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Audible.com

About George Orwell’s  book, 1984

1984, a futuristic book written in 1949, has been made famous for its ability to prophesize and forewarn the possible future of totalitarian societies. Categorically, it is a book about the loss of freedoms.

Many more books have been written in this same vein. They are written from a variety of socio-political viewpoints, the most discussed being Orwell, Huxley, and Bradbury. Yet all have their place in the minds of the modern reader.

Many of the books like 1984 have been banned by censorship (a practice many of these books warn against). Yet this fact has not stopped the lingering popularity of these books now some sixty years later, nor has it quieted the recommendation of these books from reader to reader.

Books like 1984 are often part of a high school curriculum. If you are curious about the larger themes and socio-political dialogues surrounding Orwell and Huxley, you may enjoy this video from Academy of Ideas.

Share This Post
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on facebook
Bex Skoog

Bex Skoog

Bex Skoog is the creator of the 'Out of the Bex' website, a guide to a more thoughtful life through books and simple living. If she had three wishes they would be for teacups to never empty, to possess an unending supply of classic films, and have access to the world's greatest libraries. Bex lives in Virginia outside of Washington D.C. with her husband and hundreds of stray books.

Read Next:

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are “affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Join Our Mailing List

Join the Out of the Bex community 
for reviews, book recommendations, and giveaways.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.