Graeme Gibson

Graeme C. Gibson, is a Canadian novelist who lives in Toronto, Ontario. He is a Member of the Order of Canada (1992) and was one of the organizers of the Writer’s Union of Canada (chair, 1974–75). He is also a founder of the Writers’ Trust of Canada, a non-profit literary organization that seeks to encourage Canada’s writing community.

He is generally best known for his 1973 book Eleven Canadian Novelists, a non-fiction work in which he conducted extended interviews about literature and writing with Margaret AtwoodAustin ClarkeMatt CohenMarian EngelTimothy FindleyDave GodfreyMargaret LaurenceJack LudwigAlice MunroMordecai Richler and Scott Symons.

In 1996 he decided to stop writing novels. He is a former council member of World Wildlife Fund Canada and is chairman of Pelee Island Bird Observatory. He was awarded, jointly with Jacob Verhoef and Margaret Atwood, the 2015 Gold Medal of the Royal Canadian Geographical Society.

The Bedside Book of Beasts